Basic Facts about UPJS


Pavol Jozef Šafárik University was established in 1959 as the second classical University in Slovakia. The current structure of P. J. Šafárik University includes four faculties – Faculty of Medicine, Faculty of Science, Faculty of Law and Faculty of Public Administration. At UPJS more than 5 700 students are studying. At the University 1250 staff members (500 teachers and 95 research staff) are working.


The University provides education in three main cycles – bachelor’s, master’s, doctor´s and PhD. studies in different fields. The process of education is provided in both, Slovak and English language. UPJS provides higher education based on the newest scientific findings in a wide international context. The University co-operates very intensively with academic institutions all around the world.


> read more about the UPJS at the university web-sites

> read more about the history of UPJS